# The Founding Prospectus for the NAIST Alumni Association

## March 11<sup>th</sup>, 2000

Nara Institute of Science and Technology (NAIST) was founded in 1991 as a new type of national postgraduate university which specialized in the fields of information science, biological science, materials science. In April 1993, the Graduate School of Information Science was established, in April 1994, the Graduate School of Biological Sciences and in April 1998, the Graduate School of Materials Science was established. Next year will mark the 10th anniversary of NAIST's establishment.

Today, there are more than 700 graduates (642 master's and 64 doctoral) from the Graduate School of Information Science, more than 490 (472 master's and 20 doctoral) from the Graduate School of Biological Sciences and about 100 master's graduates from the Graduate School of Materials Science.

Under the leadership of the previous and current Presidents, and focusing on these three areas of expertise essential for modern society as well as on their interdisciplinary fields, NAIST has attracted domestic and international researchers to pursue world-class research, which has been highly evaluated.

In addition to wishing for the further development of NAIST, it is time to establish the Alumni Association to support graduates and current students, to contribute to the development of higher culture, science and technology, and to build a peaceful society.

The NAIST Alumni Association was established on March 11<sup>th</sup>, 2000 with assembly of some graduates and current students. At that time, Kazuki Joe (currently a professor at Nara Women's University) was appointed as chairperson, 24 members and councilors of the board were elected and the constitution was established. We ask for your understanding and support of the alumni association's purpose.

### Founders of NAIST Alumni Association

### Information Science

Kazuki Joe (1993 enrollment)

Motoroni Doi (1993 enrollment)

Tomohiro Kuroda (1994 enrollment)

Akito Monden (1994 enrollment)

Masatoshi Ishikawa (1995 enrollment)

Satoshi Ootake (1995 enrollment)

Kei Imafuku (1996 enrollment)

Satoshi Kagimoto (1997 enrollment)

Akihiro Ebina (1998 enrollment)

Hiroshi Matsuda (1998 enrollment)

#### Bio Science

Mutsuki Amano (1994 enrollment)

Kiyohide Ishikura (1994 enrollment)

Shinichi Ogata (1994 enrollment)

Kensuke Nozaki (1994 enrollment)

Taku Mihara (1995 enrollment)

Kazuaki Umeda (1995 enrollment)

Noriyuki Sanechika (1996 enrollment)

Kosuke Asano (1997 enrollment)

Atsuki Nara (1997 enrollment)

Masanao Takaishi (1998 enrollment)

Masayoshi Hizukuri (1998 enrollment)

#### **Materials Science**

Hisashi Ichinari (1998 enrollment)

Tomomichi Tsujimoto (1998 enrollment)

Madoka Hori (1998 enrollment)